|*VeganMoFo*| #17: Antibacterial Fruit & Vegetable Wash

– FUER DIE DEUTSCHE UEBERSETZUNG BITTE RUNTERSCROLLEN –

Mkayyy… today I will do a product review of the special kind – this time not about vegan food, or at least not directly. I got a free sample of a bottle of “Anitbacterial Fruit & Vegetable Wash”. I already saw this product several times at a health food store here in London, but just couldn´t tell if that is so necessary and useful or if it is another invention for the convinience. So, I´ve never bought it. When I needed some lemon peel of a fresh lemon yesterday for the Pasta Al Limone I decided to try it.

The wash is a liquid made of purified water, acid (naturally derived from olives), glycerol (from vegetable sources), ethyl alcohol (from corn), potassium hydroxide (from basic minerals), baking soda (from basic minerals), citric acid (from cornstarch and molasses) and distilled grapefruit oil. It is produced by “Health Pro Brans Inc.”.The directions say that you have to use 1 capfl for every 2 litres of waters. In the mixture of water and this liquid you shall soak the fruit or vegetables for 2-3 minutes, rub and swish if needed and afterwards rinse them under running water.

So I did with the lemon. Honestly, I have no idea whether my lemon was cleaner than clean after the treatment. I don´t have a microscope around or the opportnity of a laboratory to have a closer look on the lemon before and afterwards. Considering my suspiciousness regarding London´s tap water and that don´t always buy organic fruit and vegetables it might be a worth to think about it. In Germany at my hometown I could always be sure that the water from the tap is more than ok, used to live close to some mountains so that I always had a very good quality of the water. Moreover, you can never be sure with what your fruit and vegs might be treated or what kind of traces might be on them even if you buy organic.

 

Mkayyy… heute gibt es ein Product Review der etwas anderen Art – diesmal nicht über ein veganes Lebensmittel, bzw. nicht direkt. Ich habe als Probe eine Flasche “Anitbacterial Fruit & Vegetable Wash” ergattert. Ich sah das bereits mehrmals in einem Biomarkt hier in London, aber konnte nicht wirklich sagen, ob das so notwendig und nützlich ist oder es mal wieder eine Convinience-Erfindung ist. Also kaufte ich es nie. Als ich gestern Zitroneschale einer frischen Zitrone gestern für die Pasta Al Limone benötigte, hab ich gedacht, ich probiere es mal aus.

Es ist eine Flüssigkeit bestehend ause aus gereinigtem Wasser, von der Säure (natürlich aus Oliven), Glyzerin (aus vegetabilen Quellen), Äthylalkohol (aus Mais), vom Kaliumhydroxid (aus Mineralien), Backsoda (aus Basismineralien), Zitronensäure (aus Maisstärke und Melasse) und von destilliertem Grapefruitöl. Es wird von “Health Pro Brans Inc. ” hergestellt. Die Anleitung besagt, dass man 1 Kappe der Flüssigkeit auf 2 Liter Wasser verwenden soll. In der Mischung des Wassers und dieser Flüssigkeit tränkt man das Obst oder das Gemüse für 2-3 Minuten, wenn erforderlich rubbeln und danach unter fließendem Wasser abspülen. So tat ich mit der Zitrone.

Ehrlich gesagt habe ich keine Ahnung, ob meine Zitrone sauberer als sauber nach dieser Behandlung war. Ich habe weder ein Mikroskop noch die Möglichkeiten eines Labors, um einen näheren Blick auf die Zitrone vorher und nachher werfen zu können. In Anbetracht meiner Skepsis betreffs des Leitungswassers hier in London und ich nicht immer Bio Obst und Gemüse kaufen kann, könnte es eine Überlegugn Wert sein, es öfters anzuwenden. In Deutschland in meiner Heimatstadt könnte ich immer sicher sein, dass das Leitugswasser mehr als nur okay ist, da ich in der Nähe von einem Gebirge gewohnt habe und mit dem frischen Quellwasser immer sehr gute Qualität des Wassers hatte. Außerdem kann man sich nie sicher sein, womit das Obst und Gemüse behandelt worden ist, was für Spuren och drauf sein könnten, selbst wenn man bio kauft.

One comment

  1. I’ve always wondered about that stuff, too. I know people that used to use vinegar to wash fruit/veggies. nice pic of the lemon 😉

Leave a Reply

