Mildreds

– FUER DIE DEUTSCHE UEBERSETZUNG BITTE RUNTERSCROLLEN –

The “Mildreds” is one of the well-known vegetarian Restaurants in Soho, London, which offers several vegan options. I was recently there with a Meet-Up-Group and we were even able to hire the posh decorated private function room. The Mildreds also does a Take away at a small additional branch two houses further.

I was excited about the Mildreds. I already heard some different opinions, some said the food is awesome, some said it´s not, several times I heard about a bad service. My opinion: the menu is nice, although there could be some more vegan options at dishes where you wonder why it´s not. But they have some traditional British dishes combined with international Cuisine. I think the food was okay, not too gorgeous, partly even a bit greasy. Unfortunately, I had some cork in my wine, which was surprisingly quick replaced. Their cheesecakes are vegan as well and the people who had it were clearly amazed.

The staff: it was a bit strange that we weren´t allowed to enter the room until sharp the time we booked it, although it was only five minutes to. They served quickly, faster than I exspected. When they cleared the dishes of the main meal, the service lady somehow didn´t bother to take my plate. Due to the generous dish I didn´t finish – was that the reason? Everybody else´s were taken. When I went to the toilet, a male staff member went in front of my eyes to the ladie´s toilet, the one for gents was not busy though. He didn´t care.

To sum up: I´m not sure yet whether I´ll return. It was nice there, but there are still better vegan restaurants even in Soho.

Das “Mildreds” ist eines der bekannten vegetarischen Restaurants in Soho, London, das einige vegane Optionen bietet. Ich war kürzlich mit einer Meet-Up-Gruppe dort und wir konnten sogar den posh dekorierten “Privatraum” für geschlossene Gesellschaften buchen. Das Mildreds bietet auch ein Take Away in einer seperaten kleinen Filiale zwei Häuser weiter an.

Ich war recht neugierig auf das Mildreds. Ich habe bereits verschiedenste Meinungen gehört; manche sagen das Essen ist großartig, manche sagen das ist es nicht, oft habe ich von einem schlechten Service gehört. Meine Meinung: das Menu is ganz nett, auch wenn einige Gerichte wiederum vegan sein könnten und man sich fragt warum es das nicht ist. Aber es gibt einige typisch britische Gerichte kombiniert mit internationaler Cuisine. Ich finde das Essen ok, nicht herausragend, teilweise auch etwas fettig, Leider hatte ich auch Kork in meinem Wein, das Glas wurde überraschend schnell ersetzt. Die Käsekuchen sind auch vegan und die, die den noch in ihren Bauch quetschen konnten, waren sichtlich begeistert.

Das Personal: es war etwas merkwürdig, dass wir nicht in den Raum durften bis genau zu dem Zeitpunkt, von wann an er gemietet war, auch wenn es nur 5 Min vorher war. Es wurde recht schnell serviert, schneller als ich erwartet hatte. Als die Teller nach dem Hauptgang abgeräumt wurden, hat die Servicelady nicht den Versuch unternommen meinen Teller auch mitzunehmen. Da die Portionen recht großzügig waren, hab ich es nicht geschafft – war das der Grund? Von alle anderen wurde das Geschirr abgeräumt. Als ich auf die Toilette gehen wollte, hat mir ein männlicher Mitarbeiter die Damentoilette vor der Nase weg geschnappt, auch wenn die Herrentoilette frei war. Es schien ihn nicht zu stören.

Zusammenfassend muss ich leider sagen, dass ich mir nicht sicher bin, ob ich wieder ins Mildreds gehe. Es was ok dort, aber es gibt eben auch noch bessere vegane Restaurants selbst in Soho.

One comment

  1. There's definitely something about Mildreds that I'm not too keen on. Maybe the atmosphere & staff: I get the feeling they just want to feed you with fairly average dishes, and get on to the next customers. Its a shame if you didn't have room to fit in the dessert though – probably the best thing about it!

Leave a Reply

