Glass Chow Mein & HoiSin Tempeh

-RUNTERSCROLLEN FUER DEUTSCHE ÜBERSETZUNG-

Like you saw in my previous post, I was shopping like mad at an asian shop due to its cheaper staple foods. I also found another version of glass noodles there made with sweet potato starch and water and nothing else. Of course, those caught my attention and I bought a smaller package of them to try.

Unlike common glass noodles, these didn’t come as a dry messy noodle nest in the package, they were already cut into shorter pieces, so that you could much easier take as little of them as you need. Also, they are thicker than an average glass noodle. They do reach a thickness of regular spaghetti. Right what did I do with them? Chow Mein!

You need: 100g sweet potato glass noddles, a small courgette, a quarter of a lengthwise butternut squash, fresh ginger, chow mein spice mix (five spice mix plus granulated onion and a generous amount of granulated garlic), tempeh, hoi-sin sauce, smoked salt, tamari and a handful of mung bean sprouts

At first I marinated some tempeh strips in a hoi-sin-sauce I had left at home, to which I added a smoked salt and a dash of vinegar. I put my 100g of sweet potato glass noodles into a pan, covered them with water, added some salt and brought them to a boil. In the meantime, I cut a small courgette and a quarter of a butternut squash with a spiral slicer. Furthermore, I cut some fresh ginger into small strips and added them as well. Once all seemed to be about to be done, I added chow mein spice mix with some tamari to taste. I left it to simmer and then added the marinated tempeh, at the very end I added fresh mung bean sprouts. Serve with wakame sprinkles and some fresh sprouts😉

The dish is enough for 2 plates.

Vegan Chow Mein with gluten-free glass noodles
Vegan Chow Mein with gluten-free glass noodles

Wie ihr in meinem vorigen Beitrag gesehen habt, habe ich ordentlich wie bekloppt beim Asiaten eingekauft, allein wegen Grundzutaten, die da einfach günstiger sind. I hatte auch eine andere Version Glasnudeln gefunden, die nur aus Suesskartofffelstaerke und Wasser und sonst nichts bestehen. Natürlich haben diese meine Neugier geweckt, so dass ich mir eine kleine Packung zum probieren mitgenommen habe.

Im Gegensatz zu den herkömmlichen Glasnudeln, diese Sorte ist in der Packung kein chaotisches Nest aus getrockneten Nudeln, sondern bereits in ca 10 cm lange Stücken geschnitten, so dass diese Sorte leichter portionierbar ist. Ausserdem werden die Süßkartoffel-Glasnudeln dicker als herkömmliche und erreichen ungefähr einen Durchmesser wie normale Spaghetti. Gut, was hab ich also mit denen gemacht? Chow Mein!

Ihr braucht: 100g Suesskartoffel-Glasnudeln, eine kleine Zuchhini, ein viertel eines längs geschnittenen Butternusskuerbis, frischen Ingwer, Chow Mein Gewürzmix (Fünf-Gewürz-Mischung mit extra Zwiebelpulver und ner Großzügigen Menge Knoblauchpulver), Tamari, Hoi-Sin-Sauce, Tempeh, Rauchsalz, Handvoll Mungobohnenkeimlinge

Als erstes habe ich ein paar Streifen Tempeh in Hoi-Sin-Sauce, die ich noch daheim hatte, mit etwas Rauchsalz mariniert. Die Glasnudeln habe ich in einer Pfanne mit Wasser bedeckt und mit einer Prise Salz zum kochen gebracht. In der Zwischenzeit habe ich die Zucchini und den Kürbis durch den Spiralschneider gejagt, den frischen Ingwer in kleine Streifen geschnitten und zu den Nudeln dazu gegeben. Als alles einigermassen durch aussah, habe ich die Chow Mein Gewürze mit Tamari hinzugegeben und etwas weiter köcheln lassen. Dann gab ich den marinierten Tempeh dazu und ganz am Schluss frische Mungobohnenkeimlinge. Mit etwas getrockneten Wakame und frischen Keimlingen servieren😉

Die Portion reicht für 2 Teller.

 

3 comments

    • Glass noodles are gluten-free and easier to make, even cold for a salad than any other kind of noodle or pasta, I think. Hoisin is also one of my favourite sauces😉

Leave a Reply

